Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

A sports car T?

A quick 'about me', or you can skip to the T-content in the next paragraph. I am a 43 year old teacher in Southern Indiana, married, three kids and 8 cars. I have two Alfa Romeo Spiders. One with 62k miles and one with 50k miles. Great cars. I also have an NB Miata with a Jackson Racing header and a cold air/K&N. The V-8 in the herd is a Lincoln Mark VIII with the 290hp 32v DOHC V-8. It has IRS and 4-wheel discs. I also have an 87 4-runner and a 1953 Ford Victoria. There is also a VW Golf and a Toyota Camry Solara convertible.

Now, I am wondering if anyone has done a pro-touring/road racing/sport car style T. Mustang II front, IRS rear. Aluminum 4-cylinder and 5-speed to help weight bias. Big tires all around, but bigger in the back. 4-wheel discs.

I have seen one skid pad report for a T that was NOT set up for handling and it was not terrible, but not exactly inspirational, I cannot put the link here due to the 10 post/spam thing but it was in Kit Car mags website...

I was wondering if there are any builds on here to compare it to? I was considering a Lotus/Locost style car but a T would be MUCH cooler! Any insight or inspiration?
Thanks!

Randy

hmmm I have only seen 1 T with an independent front end but it had full fenders, kinda hard to hide the stuff with out them. There are quite a few with IRS though, mine included.

I don't think there is a build thread with the IFS.

And Yes a T would be much cooler! If you could create and IFS with tube arms you could probably pull it off with out looking to bad. Kind of like an Indy car with a bucket body.

Without being unkind, sort of depends on weather you want to build a race car with a Bucket body... or a T Bucket. Sorry to be blunt but fully IDS buckets have been done in the UK and the USA, for me they dont really cut it.