Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Complete Newbie

JKelly

I just retired, and now have the time to indulge some of my wild hair ideas that I've had to sit on as a working adult. One of those ideas is to have a car that is uniquely mine. I'm considering the T-Bucket because its simplicity appeals to the KISS principle that I tried to follow throughout my career. Although I know very little of the mechanical detials (yet), I have some vague ideas of where I would like to go with this idea.

I'm looking for something that I can use daily in a rather arid environment. Air conditioning would be nice, but is not essential. I want it to be reliable and economical to operate, with good fuel mileage. Since I do some living history events and want to take some trips, I want it to be able to pull a small trailer, probably a teardrop which I can build myself. Given the area in which I travel, I need at least a 300 mile range between fuelings, and 500 would be better.

My first thought is to use something akin to the Ford 2.3 or 2.5 L inline 4 as an engine. I'd like a manual, but I understand that there is some difficulty fitting a clutch pedal into the limited floor space. I would want to put a rollbar on it for safety, and to support a bikini type top such as you see on open 4X4s like the Jeep and Toyota FJ-40s just to keep the sun off in the middle of the summer.

I hope to spend some time here picking people's brains and refining my ideas. Any comments, suggestions, or opinions are appreciated.

Welcome to the board!

You might want to consider a 26-27 coupe (most folks just call'em a 27). The 27's have a little more room and the fixed top will make it easier to air condition. I do know of at least one 27 roadster with AC. The owner uses it to blow cool air in his face it traffic(no top that I'm aware of).

Fiberglass coupe bodies are available.