Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Front disc brakes

xkopper34

I am new to Tbuckets, just starting a build, and have a lot of questions. Does anyone know why most of the part catalogs say that the 78 -up GM front disc kits are too large or heavy for a Tbucket. Seems as they want to steer you to the more expensive Wilwood set-ups. I see lots of pics with the GM system. I am planning on using bolt on steering arms. Anyone have some input ??

The main complaint I have read concerning the regular GM brakes was a shimmy in the front end while going between 50 and 55 MPH. The problem is that regular GM or like same rotors is that they are not balanced enough for a very light weight car, such as a T Bucket. The frontends they are attached to are heavy cars. So heavy that the shimmy can't be felt. T Buckets have very little unsprung weight and therefore the shimmy is more noticable.

I have also read that a way to get around this is to have the wheel mounted on the rotor and both balanced at the same time. Check with the NTBA website. There is a member there who can explain how this is done. Although finding a place to do it seems hard to find.

There must be a terrible imbalance condition in those rotors. The closer you bring an imbalance condition to center, the more insignificant it becomes. And if a rotor wants to vibrate that badly, when it is so close to center, then it must be w-a-y out of balance.

There are two obvious problems with removing metal from the rotor to bring it back into balance. Problem 1 - nobody wants to be liable for carving up a rotor that might fail, bringing the lawsuit of the century down on their heads. Problem 2 - do you want to drive a car with carved up rotors on it?