Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Has anyone used an Underdash Master Cylinder set up?

clamper

I have a Corvair master cylinder now but have a couple of problems with it, 1. it is a single reservior system 2. it is difficult to service. I have seen a couple of different systems that mount the master cyl. at a 90 degree angle. This would allow for a updated dual reservior and because I have a original steel body with a vent in the center of the cowl, servicing would be very easy. If anyone has any information, I would apprciate it.

I have a Corvair master cylinder now but have a couple of problems with it, 1. it is a single reservior system 2. it is difficult to service. I have seen a couple of different systems that mount the master cyl. at a 90 degree angle. This would allow for a updated dual reservior and because I have a original steel body with a vent in the center of the cowl, servicing would be very easy. If anyone has any information, I would apprciate it.

I have one in my '27. Not sure how well it would work in an earlier T as it is a "reversed" M/C setup not a right angle one. It was made by a shop here locally and we modified it from there for my application. The M/C is for a ranger with non-power disc/drum setup. I'll admit it's not easy to fill when bleeding brakes, but its worth it.

One thing to note. You need a strong support to mount this to. I have a steel frame on the interior side of the firewall, that is plated and has stud for this to mount to. There is no flex. I'd guess you would need something similar. Here is a shot of it on the bench in mockup:

Bens2754.jpg

and here is what you see in the car:

DSCF1648.jpg

Ben,