Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Hello from Utah

Jeremy P

I guess it's time I introduce myself here. I've been a member of the forum for a while now and haven't ever posted, just done a lot of reading. about a year ago i decided that it was time I start building a bucket. My brother has a 23 bucket that is currently being stored at my house, Ma_n_Pa T live across the highway from me, and my uncle who has a 23 bucket lives just South of me. So I'm not "new" to T buckets but I am new to building one. After doing a lot of research I've decided to build a 23 C cab delivery. I've gathered up a few parts to get me started. I've got a motor and trans, and a original 30's (I believe)I beam drop axle. The motor is a 5.3 liter vortec out of a 2003 suburban. The trans is a 4L60e out of the same suburban. The motor will get a 402 cubic inch stroker with a bunch of aftermarket goodies. I'm shooting for 450 to 500 horse to start with. I might go with a twin turbo set up, IF...I can make it look good. We'll see. The trans will be rebuilt to handle the added power from the motor. I plan on building my own frame and have downloaded two different frame plans. I like the traditional style steering, so I'll go with that as well as the split wishbones for the front with the spring over top the axle. I haven't decided yet what I'm going to do from the front wheels and brakes. I really like the looks of the spoke wheels but I hate those crappy little calipers and brake pads. My brothers has these on his and we are always fighting the front brakes. The rear axle will be either a Ford 8.8 or a custom Dana 60. I haven't decided on that yet for sure. I know the 60 will be a bit over kill, but I like the piece of mind knowing that I'll never blow it up. I'm shooting for getting a body next spring and getting started building it. Until them I will continue to work on the motor and gather up some of the other parts that I will need once the frame