Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

My First T-Bucket Build

cmcdanl

Hey guys, I'm new to the site so I figured I would share what I'm working on. (I apologize in advance for the long post!) I'm building a T-Bucket from the ground up. Since it's my first build, I'm on a low budget of course. Because of the low budget I'm having to fabricate every bracket for the car, down to the shackles. It's a lot of work but I'm loving the experience and learning a lot as I go. I plan to do the entire build myself, including the paint, so be ready for a lot of questions from me! So far I've got the frame built, most of the suspension mounts welded on the frame, the front axle is finished. I fabricated and welded the batwings on the front along with the spring perches. I went out of the budget to order a disk brake kit for the front axle because I want good stopping power. Gotta be safe. The front spring is a 27" trailer leaf spring I picked up brand new for $30. The rear spring is the original spring from the front axle. I took it down to 5 leafs. There will also be two motorcycle shocks on the rear to assist the leaf spring. I haven't welded on the rear spring perches yet because I'm struggling with how high the back end sits up. It came out higher than I expected, so any advice on that would be appreciated. I would prefer not to cut the frame up to make a taller kick up. But it's my first build so I'm trying to keep it relatively simple. If it has to stay up as high as it is then so be it. I started with a "donor car". A 1977 Oldsmobile Custom Cruiser. I removed the sb 350 and th350 and cleaned it up and painted it. I also am using the rear axle out of it. I don't know much about the different widths of rear axles but I assume mine is a little wider than the usual axle since it's from a full size car. But I plan on buying some different wheels at the end anyways so I plan on just getting the proper offset to make up for the wider axl