Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Need advice on front disc brakes

donsrods

While my Son's transmission and motor are out of his T (tranny had to go back to TCI because the pump failed after 200 miles :sad:) we are going to do some of the little tasks we have been putting off. He and I are getting together tonight to do them.

One thing we need to correct is the front disc brakes seem to be not retracting. At first we had GM brakes, but now have Wilwoods, and both did the same thing, the pads are dragging badly.

We have a 2 pound residual valve in the front and have heard that some master cylinders have a built in residual valve in the outlet, so we might be doubling up. It is a master cylinder we got from Total Performance. We intend on looking at it to see if there is one up in there, what do we look for? How do we remove it if there is one in there?

Any suggestions would be appreciated. I have never used discs before, just drums.

Don

I wouldn't think you would want any residual pressure on disk brakes. I thought residual valves were to make drums work better with disk brakes by keeping the shoes a little closer to the drums with no pressure from master cylinder so they would engage at the same time.

Maybe a call to Brian would be in order. He should be able to tell you if there is a in unit valve.

Ron

No ORF, I think you are talking about proportioning valves. I get the two mixed up too. The residual valves are generally a 2 pound for the front discs and 10 pound for the rear drums, and are used to keep fluid from draining back to the master cylinder if it is mounted lower than the wheel cylinders.

We are going to poke around tonight and see what we can find. It is too late to call TP, but I might tomorrow if I can't fix it tonight.

Don

donsrods said: