Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

New East Texan in the Mix

Kevinrevin

Howdy, y'all.

I'm new to this T deal, but not to hotrodding or dirt-track racing. I had a '71 Javelin in High School back in the early 80's, and several racecars since.
I picked up some old tin (the back part of a touring car?, a cowl, and some mismatched fenders) about 20 years ago. Now that the kid's college bills are almost done, I figure it's time to put something together.

A '05 Hemi Magnum is my current toy, but I'm wanting to build my own toy.

Welcome from South Florida from an original Longview/Tyler, Texas boy. Enjoy the reading, good stuff.

Welcome from St Louis, Kevin. Do you have a sort of vision of what you want in a T-bucket? As you can see, they vary all over the place in style, from old-school modified, to downright race cars.

Welcome from the warm sunny Caribbean, came here about 20 years ago from Houston . . . lotta Texas I miss, . . . . and also a lot I don't ;)

Welcome from St Louis, Kevin. Do you have a sort of vision of what you want in a T-bucket? As you can see, they vary all over the place in style, from old-school modified, to downright race cars.
No true vision yet. About the only thing so far, is to try to avoid the SBC that's sitting in the shop. I want something different.

You mean something like this . . . ? A 4.0 BMW in one of our member's builds (Mykk) . . .

2018-04-24-12-13-39.jpg

PS - I happen to be a fan of the SBC; it's cheap and available, much like the flathead V-8's in the early days of hot rods.

Ditto Spanky. I bet I could pick up a good running SBC for less than the cost of that Beamer timing chain! And there's more than one chain on that thing.Maybe three. But, to each his own!
Nothing wrong with being different.

Different, like a Nash/AMC 195.6 cid L6 with 3 speed.
Banjo rear from 51 Ford 3/4 ton pickup.

Just a few of the things laying around that I can use.