Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Paint Ideas

ChrisK

Looking for paint idea's. How many of you guys painted your own cars? My co-worker just painted his motorcycle(goldwing) with the dupli-color laquer they sell at the parts stores. Its already reduced just pour and paint. The problem is that its laquer. I was looking into an automotive paint but these are now water based. I would like to use a color that is readily available like a factory paint for touchup later on if needed. Any Ideas?

I've been painting my own cars in my backyard for many years,starting back in 1958,but still thats only one every few years. Lots changes in types of paints over that time an tryed some of them. I go back to high gloss enamel most offten ,becz its one step an I can match it if needed. I now use SW hardner in it,but still let it dry two months before buffing out.

I haven'tt used it myself but i've heard pretty good reviews of Summit racings' paint system , do some research 'cause I think you'd want to use thier systemfrom start to finish [as w/anything else] I've always used Dupont stuff [local supplier is a friend from the old days]
dave