Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Say what you will about Speedway.....

donsrods

I know a lot of us buy from Speedway (I have been using them for 25 years or more) and I know a few people question their quality, etc. However, I have to tell of something that happened today that blew me away.

We installed a set of Wilwood front brakes on my Son's T bucket right after it was done last year. They have always stopped like gangbusters, but were dirty as h***. Even after driving a mile you had brake dust starting to build up inside the front wheels. There was also some apparent dragging because the rotors were starting to score. My Son Don tore into them a while back, removed the guts from the proportioning valve, thinking that pressure was keeping them tight against the rotor. He basically rechecked everything and couldn't come up with any logical reason for the problem.

So he called Speedway and spoke to a Tech there who told him the Wilwoods are essentially race car brakes and too efficient for the street unless you tone them way down by using a proportioning valve. Then he told my Son he would send him new rotors, a proportioning valve, and some softer pads for the calipers...................all at no charge! :eek: What company does stuff like that in 2009?? He hadn't even asked for anything, they volunteered it all. :eek:

Speedway has always been like that, never a hassle on a return or problem. When that steering arm snapped a year ago they not only took back the two we had bought, but they immediately pulled every one from stock and stopped selling them, and still don't sell them. In all these years I can't remember one time they ever failed to try to take care of us.

Just thought I would pass along what my personal experiences have been with one company in our industry.

Don

i agree with don....great service and customer relations.... i don't mind sending bill my cash!!

Ron