Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Shifter Height

jimbo01

I'm starting to plan out some future projects and items I need to buy and need some help with a automatic shifter. I have 2 questions on the Lokar shifters. The first is when figuring the Lokar height of the shifters, is that the shifter's total length or is their total height from the floor? The second question is is their a difference or preference between floor mount or tranny mount and what would those be?

Hi Jimbo
I have a lokar shifter
The listed length is the length of the shifter handle - not including the base
I have only used the tranny mount shifter - they easily bolt to the transmission and stick through the floor
I have no experience with the floor mount shifter
Frank

I went with the lokar floor mount because I felt the trans model put the shifter handle too far forward on my bucket. This way I can put it where I want it so it is ergonomic for me. The floor mount allows you to offset it too to give the driver a bit more knee room which I did move it about an inch to the right, the kit comes with a couple different offset arms.

I ran a 16 inch Lokar in my 23 and am also using the same length one in my new rpu project. That to me seems about right, and if you go too tall, and especially if you use a bigger knob, there is the possibility of the car changing gears on a hard bump. (I had that happen until I adjusted the jam nuts that tighten up the movement). My Son has the taller Lokar in his T bucket and one time it popped out of park and backed into another car. His car has a nasty cam and we figure it shook the shifter enough to dislodge it from park.

Don

Here is the 23 inch one in my Son's bucket.

donstinteriorfinished003.jpg

And this is the 16 inch one in my old 23.

Tjustbackfromupholsteryshop007.jpg