Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

The famous 'stiff ride' question...

Kurt64

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
I'm very new to the unique world of the T-Bucket. I realize that it will never ride like a Caddy but yikes...it's pretty harsh for this 54 year old. It is an adjustable coil over rear that I have loosened as far as I can go. I have already added Speedway light shocks to the front which really helped stop the front wheel bounce, but the ride is very stiff in the rear. To further amplify the issue, the seats are merely upholstered 1/2" foam resting on the fiberglass tub. I am 6' tall and my vision line is just below the window frame, so I either have to live with those cushions, or raise it up with better padding and/or springs so I can look over the windshield. What can I do to soften up the ride?
20180916_173751_resized.jpg

I run w/ 160# springs & 3" of foam in the seat , it's still a bit harsh but I only have 3" of travel in the rear before it hits the snubber , if I had more travel I could use a softer spring rate...

Not having springs in the seat is what kills the ride , but there's just no room if you want to sit IN the car and not ON it!!

I run w/ 160# springs & 3" of foam in the seat , it's still a bit harsh but I only have 3" of travel in the rear before it hits the snubber , if I had more travel I could use a softer spring rate...
It's always a challenge when buying a vehicle like this from another builder...I have very little info on what components were installed. I was thinking about trying an even lighter spring than you are using. The rear of this can't weigh much at all...I'm guessing around 1000# but would like to have it weighed somehow.