Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Way Off Topic: New project I'm starting...

RexRod

Hello all, This post is WAAAAYYYYY off topic. And long, and rambling......

I'm tired. I work pretty hard for a living at the moment. Times are tough, but at least I'm working. Thank god I have the tools I do, and the room in my home shop to run them.

As I stand and work at the machines I have now, I dream of a three axis CNC with a tool changer. It would be super nice to load up a small fixture, push a button and walk away for 30 minutes to an hour so I can make progress on a different machine at the same time. The little two axis CNC machine I have now is great. But I need to stand at the machine at all times to make quill pulls and tool changes. I would love to have something a bit more complete. But being the complete broke ass that I am, and the fact I just don't have that much work, I can't justify the 25+ grand for even a small used machining center.

But hey, I'm a smart guy? Right? Maybe?

So I have this machine in storage. I got it for FREE years ago with this idea I would do something with it someday. It's big, it's old, it has ball screws. Three axis of motion and a tool changer. Problem is, it's old stepper technology, and the tape controller is junk. So I have this plan to update it to a PC based controller with servos. The machine itself is solid. Doesn't even have that much wear from the look of the machine beds. Having all the ball screws installed already will make this so much easier as well.