Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

young guy here with questions

turbo minivan

hey everyone! i joined here a long time ago but have been working on other projects for a few years.
im 25 and when i was 16 i bought a 23 body w/ 20" bed, insert, frame, front end kit, rad, 9" center section, 6-71 blower, corvair box, 28-A banjo rear spring, and a few other parts mostly from MAS roadster products.

ill soon have a shop of my own and itll be time to build a rolling chassis for it.
i have always planned to put a BB chevy in it with my lightly boosted 6-71 on it (under 10psi) and 2 decent carbs, but i wanted people opinions on how much is too much motor for such a light car? (ive been working with BIG turbos for a few years so i know my boost)
i have LOTS of high compression SB chevy parts from a stock-car motor, but nothing looks quite like a blown big block in a small T-bucket with zoomies.
what do people think? im going for kinda a show car/dragster look (a true race car feel, but CLEAN like a show car). you know the type.

what do you think? whats too much for the street? right now i play with a 400+hp turbo dodge omni (2000lb FWD 4 banger) and its getting to be "too much" for the street.
i sure dont want a trailer queen, but also dont want to end up with a fuel-altered type car that goes sideways on the highway.

Welcome :D

To much power? Its all in how you drive it and how much you want to spend. :D

In a T everything is out in the open, so image is everything. :cool:

oh, i also wanted to ask a very general question...
when it comes time to weld up my front end and start a rolling chassis, how do i go about making sure everything is nice and true and square... so it dosnt roll sideways down the road? :sad: having a car that doesn't track properly is my biggest fear with welding this all up.:eek:

VegasBruce said:
Welcome :D

To much power? Its all in how you drive it and how much you want to spend. :D