Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Steering issues need help!

Wesley White

Hello all, I am very new to the Model T scene. I have a newly acquired 1927 model T (at least that's what the title says.) It appears to be a fabricated kit of sorts but the issue I have is the steering/ front end. while the bucket as a whole is not period correct it appears that the front axle is. The previous owner(s) installed a rack of sorts and all the welds look like crap. I would like to clean u the front end and get rid of the rack and go back to a more traditional steering gear box. What are my options. As I have googled it about 100 ways and the only thing I could find is a vega style steering box. but no images on linkage or geometry. Can someone please help? TIA.

How appropriate to follow the above post. Several people (including me) are updating to rack and pinion. You need 10 posts before you can post pictures. My suggestion would be figure out why your present system sucks before you abandon it.
I am using a product called Unisteer. It’s designed for cross steer to replace the Vega box. Keep watching you will find your answer. Welcome to the world of bucketheads!
1928-1940 Street Rods - Ford - Rack & Pinions - Search By Product

Old round fart thanks for the input. The front axle has the rack mounted to the axle not the frame. It also has every thing up front. If I were to relocate it to the the frame I would have to move everything to the rear of the axle and the steering linkage is ran down the frame rail. It kinda looks like someone just threw it together. They weren't very good at welding either. I wish I could post some pics so you could see what I'm talking abou . I'm really just looking for a reasonable priced bolt on kit and steering set up for the front end.