Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Youngsters vs CCR frame

swatman260

Hey guys, I'm brand new here and hope that I'm not asking something taboo, but I've done searches and not found an answer...I'm in the planning stages of a t bucket and plan to build the frame myself. Looking on various sites, it seems that the two most popular frame designs are those by Youngster and those based on CCR's design. I'm planning on a drivable car with a SBC 383. Probably a stretched body because I'm 6'4". Im looking for decent road performance at a reasonable price. Are there advantages of one design over the other? Anything that I should steer clear of? While I'm not a newbie to cars, I'm new to the hot rod and t bucket scene, and a lot of the t bucket suspension components are a bit new to me yet. Thanks for any guidance.

Welcome from SW florida. I too am new to building t's. I have built my frame after a design that I saw at nehrspeedcraft.com. It is allowing me not to lose interior space by channeling, although some diehards don't like seeing the frame . I'm not sure yet if I will have a small driveshaft hump in the interior or not. I don't think I will. All the site sponsors will answer any questions you have. I have a 10" stretched body from R.P.M. While sitting in it, my legs are stretched out with plenty of room to spare. I am 5'11". Here are a couple of pics. Good luck.View attachment 7626z body2.jpgz body2.jpgz body.jpg

Mike, where in Fl are you? I'm in Tallahassee. I like the z frame because of the extra tub room, but I think I may channel mine for a cleaner look. But, I guess I won't know for sure until I get the body in my garage. I'm sure I'll mock up everything with wood the way others suggest, but I'd really like to at least settle on a best case frame design first.