Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Air Compresser and Sherman Williams Base-coat Clear-coat

Hey Guys,

What is the smallest size air compresser can I use when painting? Has anyone use Sherman Williams Base-coat Clear-coat On their cars? Any pros and cons on their paints?

Thanks, T-Bucket Bob

I have no experience with Sherwin Williams, but as for the compressor, the bigger tank the better. You need volume to keep a steady pressure which is essential for a good paint job. You could probably get it done with a 30 gallon, but that would be pushing it. I have a 60 gallon and it worked great.

Keep an eye on craigslist. You can pick up a decent 60 gallon pretty cheap.

If you are only painting trim or maybe the chassis a 30 might be able to handle it, but you will do a lot of waiting for the compressor to catch up, and then be fighting hot air and water contamination in the tank.

I use a 60 gallon tank/compressor, that runs into a 20 gallon tank. I use a short hose from 20 gallon to paint gun, and have to use a long hose to reach from the 60 gallon to the 20. Long hoses lose to much volume for the gun by them selves. I keep the big tank at 130 pds, and regulate from the smaller tank.
Lee

the size and capacity or you air supply is dictated more by the gun you are going to use, not so much by the paint. you need to find out what the CFM requirements are for the gun and then get a compressor that will exceed that requirement, you will also loose some flow depending on the hoses and driers you use.