Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Let the welding begin

Greetings all. I am a newbie to the forum and am finally ready to dive in and get started on my bucket. It has been a long time coming but I think I have finally finsihed repairing all of the kids junk and have the wifes "To Do" list to a point where I can spend some time on somehting I want to do. Though many years ago I used to work for a company building Aurburns and Cobra's, the bucket has always been a dream of mine. I would welcome any and all advice, hints and guidence from your experiances. I will be following prints from TP, so if there is any advanced advice it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Temporary Insani-T

There's no substitute for having the time, confidence, building experience and drive. It sounds like you'll do fine. Keep us updated or I'll have LumenAl call you out for pics.:welcome:

I didn't see your original intro post, so a belated "Welcome to the forum" is due. :welcome:

We followed TP plans for the T my two Son's and I built for my one Son Don. But we deviated from it slightly in several respects. TP uses 1.5 x 3 x 1/8 tubing for their frame, and we went to heavier 2 x 3 x 3/16 for added strength a IMO a better looking profile. We also were building it around a small block Ford and C4 tranny, so we used Speedway crossmembers for engine and tranny, and consequently had to modify the steering/brake mounts too. The engine was originally built for my Son's drag car, so we wanted a frame capable of handling the higher HP.

We also tossed the self-threading bolts TP provides into the garbage can and welded everything instead. They use these to mount some very critical suspension and steering components, and we refuse to take a chance on them. Aside from that, we pretty much followed their plans.