Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

New Dallas Area Member - '27 Turtle Deck

jmel

Hello from Dallas, TX area - Rockwall (Northeast of Dallas) to be specific.

I'm new to this hobby. Built my first car this year under the supervision of my father-in-law. Have been around the hobby since meeting my wife (her family is in it heavily), but i had zero knowledge - had never even changed my own oil. Decided it was time to dip my toes in and try to learn a new skill. Acquired a '27 turtle deck body last January and with the help from my F-I-L, buit it from ground up, including home made frame. Learned how to weld on this car - and it hasn't even fallen apart.......yet. Took her to Biloxi for Cruisin' the Coast last October, and am planning to take it to the Lone Star Roundup in Austin next April.

When I started the car, the initial intent was to be a rat-rod, but got a little carried away and think it might be a little too clean to be considered a rat. Made a nice shiny chassis with front end out of a '46 ford with big shiny disk brakes. Rear end is a .308 Positrack, and is powered by a 305 SBC with a TH350 w/manual shift valve body. Body was in really good shape, just a little bit of rust here and there, and a nice variety of dents, dings, and pits. Rear pannel below deck lid was rotten and deck lid was missing - so we made those from scratch as well. Slicked off the firewall, but most of the dents and dings throughout the rest of the car are still there. Finished it off with a nice coat of flat black via rattle can, as dents, dings, and pits won't look too pretty with glossy paint. The chassis and engine have enough shine by itself though.

Its been a fun little cruiser. Have learned a lot, and still have a lot to learn. Hope to pick up a few ideas and learn a few things from this community.

1.jpg

T---Biloxi--Web.jpg

NoTrespassing.jpg