Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Old car guy here, but new to "T" Buckets

Diceman

I am looking to build a "T" Bucket shortly and this looks like a good place to do some research. I have an aluminum Buick/Rover V8 engine with a 700R4 transmission that will be the basis of the build. Right now I really like the Speedway Traditional "T" and the Zipper Lakes Modified style cars. If anyone has any experience with these your input would be appreciated.

I have a lot of fabrication experience and actually worked at a race car fabrication shop years ago. In addition I have a well equipped shop and several friends that do too. So, I will probably buy a body and fabricate most of the rest myself unless I find a "fire sale" on an abandoned project that I can modify.

My current rides are a 1950 Merc Custom, a 1950 Ford movie car, and a 1958 Apache pickup with an Indy 500 track service vehicle motif.

I have wanted a "T" Bucket since I was a teenager and since I recently retired I decided that would be my next project. My last gig before retirement was taking care of Jim Hall's Chaparral race cars for the Petroleum Museum.

I am looking forward to reading about your cars and I am sure I will find lots of good ideas and inspiration here.

IMAG0161.jpg cropped.jpg

Welcome from Ocala, Florida. Check out some of the sponcors they have some neet bodies for the T bucket as well,

Welcome from Chalmers Indiana...home of the Indy 500! I am an old sprint car racer and love the open wheel cars. Huge fan of Johnny Rutherford! Welcome, and I hope you find inspiration for your project here!

Hello and welcome! It sounds like you are definitely qualified for this venture, lol. I look forward to seeing the progress :thumbsup:

"The best laid schemes o' mice an' men / Gang aft a-gley.”