Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Our future

Old Rotor Flap

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
As some of you know, I am a volunteer tutor in the machine shop at a vocational high school.

We decided to have the class watch the recent launch of the last trip for the space shuttle on the big screen in the classroom.

When our instructor announced this was the last time we'd see Dicovery, one kid said he didn't know the Discovery Channel was going off the air.

As we watched the countdown, one kid asked where they were going and I said Tulsa.

We were watching NASA Television where there is a NASA Logo in the upper right corner of the screen - the planet with several rings around it.

I asked if anyone had heard of Disney Cruises where they take passenger to a Disney owned island. I said NASA has there own planet.... up there in the corner of the screen and they're going there.....

One of the counselors popped in and also didn't know the shuttle was going to the ISS.

Our students spend a half a day at their home high school and a half a day with us.I don't know what they teach in those other schools.... but I really wonder sometimes.
I recently substituted at another high school in their metals and wood working shops. They have a small aluminum foundry and I thought, of boy castings. Them I thought, do I really want to be anywhere near a high school student with molten aluminum.

These are the future . Admittedly I don't see the students who will be going on college.

Two of our minority students didn't even bother watching the lauch. They were in the shop chatting.

As some of you know, I am a volunteer tutor in the machine shop at a vocational high school.

We decided to have the class watch the recent launch of the last trip for the space shuttle on the big screen in the classroom.