Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

A Dreamer...

kb9jlo

Hi, I've been dreaming about a street rod for thirty years. The dream has changed and morphed over that time. But mostly it was a T-Bucket.

I finally got the guts up to enter this post.

My first close up encounter was in the 70's - a guy here in Decatur, IL had a white pearl T with beautiful candy overlays all over it. It was like a show car.

What I would like to build - not brave enough to say I will - is a T with a stretched body - I'm a big boy! I like the traditional, sprint/track T style but not so much the nose.
I'd like a "Youngster" style frame (powder coat or planted semi-flat black) with some side nerf bars - both to serve as nerf bars but also a step into the body. Also a head high roll bar, either right behind the body or at the back. Not really interested in a turtle deck or a pickup bed. I have a beer keg for the gas tank and would like to stuff the battery under the seat.
I would like to have an older I beam axle but can't see spending a lot of money on getting it narrowed.
I want big and littles - either aggressive looking radials or dirt track tires with a moderate rack - on some kind of steel wheel. I don't want it so low you can't drive it.
I don't know what I would do for a grill shell but I would like something different. Maybe a cut down tractor nose or something.
I know it kind of sounds like a 'rat rod' but I've been thinking about this so long it was before anyone was calling them 'rat' rods. I definitely don't want to skimp on the engineering or workmanship - even if it isn't a show queen. Just a hot rod.