Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

cover up

Rod Sauder

As I am new to hot rodding , I am starting with something simple. A c cab. I am at the point of covering the roof and am looking for suggestions as to what do I use? I need something that I can do myself if possible , I would like it to be black and the only catch might be that the roof curves then is flat at the back. I am wondering if when the material gets pulled tight will I get a balloon at the base of the curve??? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, Rod Sauder

Is this a C Cab body that is already made or are you trying to make one yourself. If it's already made, you could cover it like a vinyl top on a regular car.

Fred he said that he was a wood worker and i think he infered that it was plywood AND hand built.

Okay. I forgot. I'm looking for a link I used to have on how a guy did his top.

To answer your questions, the c cab is built and it is made out of marine plywood. When you say vinyl car top, thats great . Is iy easy to work with and the curve to flat transition worries me. Thanks for the feedback. Rod

I made a plywood body for my 1949 harley trike it was a copy of Big Daddy Roths Mail bag anyway it has a realllllll peaked top like flat sides then up to a 8-9 inch radius at the top all i did was take a 2x4 as a straight edge and cut curf cuts every 1/2 with a circular saw for the width of the radius after installing cleats to screw to i laid the plywood on the side and kept screwing and pushing on the plywood till it conformed to the radius pretty easy.Then i just sanded and filled any voids then glased over it then painted it. Hope this helps and good luck

Did you try cutting upside down "V" shapes into the sides of where it will curve? I have seen this down when covering curved bar stools and such.