Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Header wrap

baddawgcustoms

I will start by saying my intentions were to coat my headers in black, but for the sake of two small children running around in my garage, I've decided to use black header wrap. Again not my first choice, but actually may look ok with my style of build. I've never used the stuff before, so I'm just looking for advice on prepping the headers or any tricks to doing it correctly. Any experience with it is more than I have. Thanks.

image.jpg

Be aware that wrap is very hard on headers. You'll burn through some primary tubes in the first 2-3 seasons. It is extremely effective at holding in heat, but for a street car, it is too effective. If you absolutely must wrap, just be sure everything is squeaky-clean and that you use rubber gloves after cleaning, as the oil from your skin will create hot spots.

I will start by saying my intentions were to coat my headers in black, but for the sake of two small children running around in my garage, I've decided to use black header wrap. Again not my first choice, but actually may look ok with my style of build. I've never used the stuff before, so I'm just looking for advice on prepping the headers or any tricks to doing it correctly. Any experience with it is more than I have. Thanks.

View attachment 10728
Maybe you can just put header wrap on the kids! Lol Just kidding! I am glad you asked because I was thinking about using some too. I didn't realize it would damage the pipes. I never used it on a street car either.

Maybe you can just put header wrap on the kids! Lol Just kidding! I am glad you asked because I was thinking about using some too. I didn't realize it would damage the pipes. I never used it on a street car either.