Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Steering Column Welding Help...

engine24355

First of all, a big thanks goes out to EX JUNK for helping me with a new steering column. He is a great guy and helped me out tremendously and as you all know, does outstanding work (just look at his 27).

At this point, I have all the components to put my new custom made steering column together. However, I need to find someone who can weld aluminum. The column and mounting plate are both aluminum and need to be welded up. I have checked locally and the price I was given was $65.00 per hour for aluminum welding. Does this seem fair to you guys? I have no experience with aluminum so not sure if this is a good labor charge or not. I would prefer using a fellow Tbucketeer to weld this up, but realize not everyone has the right equipment to weld aluminum. Any help or advice is much appreciated.

Thanks!

John, have you checked any trade schools or high school shop classes in your area. Many times they are more than willing to take on small jobs and usually only want the cost of the materials for the job.

Jim

engine24355,

For a commercial shop $65.00 per hour is about right. Now if it's a buddy, well a 6 pack ought to do the trick. And if you were here in Mountain View, Arkansas (a dry county) then lunch at the grocery store deli would be what I charge. Tuesdays and Fridays are catfish days!

George

Thanks for the help guys. I have been asking around, but have only found the one fabrication shop so far. Maybe something will come up, but at least I have one place that I know can take care of it.

Try any machine shop.. Usually any machine shop or tool & die shop will have a tig...

I'm in western ky. Our shop rate has went down recently due to the economy..

engine24355,