Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

What's your time worth?

Youngster

VIP
VIP Member
This is a question I found on the other site. I've often wondered about this and would like to see what you guys think.

"What's your time worth?"

I have an opinion, but I'll wait 'til there are some postings first.

Ron

That's a very interesting question, Ron. I'm new to building a car from the ground up, so I really wouldn't know, but for guys like you that do your own fab work, etc., I would see your hourly rate being more than the norm.

When I asked my friend to weld my brackets on my rearend, it wasn't that he had the equipment or knew how to use it. It was his experience that made me go to him. He has done all his own welding on cars that he races for years, so I knew it would be right. Experience is what would place you at the higher end.

That being said..... I would expect to pay a guy with good knowledge and skills $75-$100 an hour, but the work better be top notch AND guaranteed.

I figure my time on what can you do for me. I have more projects than I have time, so if you want something done its a barter system for me. If i do take a cash side job, I'll estimate how long it will take and bid it at a $100 an hour flat rate. I don't do to many, but I don't want to.

always a hard question. i guess the answer ranges from nothing all the way to $60/ hour

ive done tons of stuff for people for free before, ive also charged people $60 for a 45 min repair

oh, its a $1000 part, and you want me to cut it down, make a new such and such in the lathe, weld it inside and out, and grind it all down so it looks perfect .... and you want to pay me $20??? hahahaha ...

one think people like to overlook is the cost of consumable's. electricity, mig wire, grinding wheels, the pair of pants im gonna wreck crawling around under your car...