Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

27T Body Lift

ellis8500

I need to do about a 1" body lift on my Spirit 27T to gain clearance for my rear 4-bar suspension. I have some ideas how to do that but would like to hear from some of the experts out there. I've never built a car before so want to know what works well for this. Can't require welding.

Thanks Guys,

Bill

I need to do about a 1" body lift on my Spirit 27T to gain clearance for my rear 4-bar suspension. I have some ideas how to do that but would like to hear from some of the experts out there. I've never built a car before so want to know what works well for this. Can't require welding.

Thanks Guys,

Bill
I would try putting 1"spacers at all your mounting points.

I would try putting 1"spacers at all your mounting points.

I have the same car..I notched the back of the rocker panels to clear mine..
If you decide to raise the Body, I would put a spacer the full length of the floor
to give it support..

Thanks Guys,

Bill
Put in a 1 in. subfloor?

Not an expert but I used hockey pucks as body mounts.

I've seen them used as body lifts on 4x4s, but i don't have any personal experience with them.

Some 1 x 2 tube on top of the frame rails would do the trick. If that body has a wooden floor, could you do the same thing with some 1 x 2 wood glued to the bottom of the floor? VERY inexpensive

Yep, You'v confirmed that my idea would be OK. Buy a 5/4x6x12 pressure treated board. Saw two pieces to length. Attach to body using stainless screws. Drill body bolt-down holes. Good to go. Cost about $10. The 1" lift also makes for a real nice line between body and 32 grill shell in case I want to put a hood on it some day.

Thanks guys.

I used treated wood on mine as well pained it black, put a strip of rubber on the top and bottom with spray adhesive, just let the body bolts run through it and sandwich it all together. Brad