Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Anybody have up-close rear suspension photos?

mikesplumbing

I know it's a lot to ask but i'm a little nervous about setting up my rear end and would like to see if any of you guys have some good photos of your whole rear end. I've been looking through the threads and i'm a little muddy on how I should do it. I'm going to use just coil-overs and I am looking for photos of the shock to axel connection and the upper connection as well. The rear upper spring perch can be set-up many different ways from what I gather and I like how Youngsters plans draw them up but i'm a novice so i'm not sure why someone would choose one way over the other.

Thanks guys!
Mike

Rear%20suspension%201.bmp
Here is a pretty good pic You don't want too much angle or you lose to much effeciency out of the spring and shock.The shock mounts with 3 holes are a good idea.This gives even more adjustment.Most buckets take some adjusting to get to ride nice.

I was reading Youngsters prints and a couple places on line ond most say 20 deg. but they don't give a range to follow. I'm assuming 20 deg. is the max. I'm also assuming that the wider the total distance between shocks is better.

Mike

This was my solution > i sat my s10 rearend on jackstands. I placed the anglefinder on the yoke of the drive line. Set it to 3-5 deg up angle and then took a measurement from the yoke bottom holes and made a flat plate that bolted onto the yoke and would set on the floor and keep the 3-5 deg angle after the angle finder was removed. Then i put my radius rod brackets on the rearend and angled them in sat a carpenters square on the floor and set the two 3/8 holes in the brackets straight up and down. Then figure the angle you want your shocks at and tac the brackets on to. When you tac your panhard bar bracket on the axel make sure its not under frame so as the frame moves up and down it doesnt bottom out on the frame .