Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Build your own body??

rawley2

I just have to ask. Have any of you ever built your own body?

I'm sort of thinking that way because I'm 6'3" tall and I know building it myself it will fit me plus I would have no problem making working doors on both sides and what ever else I wanted.

I guess I should also say I have laid up more fiberglass than is legal when I was younger working at the boat companies. Then I worked as a machinist for 10 years before starting my own business in 2002.

So I know fiberglass and precision. I do think I would have no problem building it.

More than likely I could build a frame from one of the plans and modify it to work with my body. Or just build a custom frame.....

Just wondering if anyone else has before?

At least one of the guys on here has stretched a body before (I think it's RPM Ron), you should be able to do that real easy. Figure that would be a whole lot easier than starting one from scratch.

I agree that it would be easier (and cheaper) to start with someone elses body and modify it to suit you. Resin, cloth and all the related items are getting expensive (tied into the petroleum industry) so you would have more in it than if you started with someones body first.

But if you feel this is something you would enjoy doing.................. :D:)

Don

My body is stretched but it was the mold. The mold had a stretch built into it. We made the body 6" wider after it came out of the mold though.

I did make 2 big doors in it after all of that.

P1010010.jpg

Ex-Junk built his own mold and body, He's the guy in the know...

Well I would have to argue the cheaper part.. after adding shipping to a body... There really is not that much glass in them. Plus I could use core construction and get a more solid body.

As far as easy.. Yes no doubt getting one from the kit guys would be best. Plus theirs are allready proven.