Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Driveshaft length

For a car with a buggy (transverse) leaf spring, and hairpin radius rods, I wonder what the minimum advisable driveshaft length might be. I'm new to this car-building stuff, so I don't know how much travel such a rear suspension might have, but I've seen some 'buckets with very short wheelbases.

bobtail with radius rods.jpg

Drive shaft-+8" or whatever is needed
1/2' to 2" yoke to tailshaft depending on how long the yoke is.
No more than 2" offset from tailshaft to pinion.

Drive shaft-+8" or whatever is needed
1/2' to 2" yoke to tailshaft depending on how long the yoke is.
No more than 2" offset from tailshaft to pinion.

you mean 1/2 inch to 2 inch? and could you clarify what you mean by 8" or whatever is needed? not sure i get it.

I think of it as if the drive shaft were already installed and I unscrewed the U-bolts at the differential, the drive shaft could be pushed forward 1" before it bottomed out in the transmission.

I’ve experienced a driveshaft that wasn’t engaged enough to the tail shaft One big dip and a bump and the drive shaft came out far enough of the trans to do some real damage. Not a pretty sight!! Something bending and coming out of balance at 60 mph is enough to scare the crap out of you.

I would think if you bottom out the yoke, pull it out an inch and use that dimension for the driveshaft length you should be ok. Although, you don’t want to bottom out the yoke on a bump either.
Anyone have thoughts?

That’s where I’m hung up. If the trans is mounted and the rear end is mounted where you want it, that’s what is going to dictate the drive shaft length. Install the yoke all the way in, pull it some amount around 1” and measure between the front and the rear u joint. That’s the drive shaft length. Easy peasy.