Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Looking for advice

Donmon

Hi, I just purchased this project, and although Im not green when it comes to wrenching and fabricating I am a rookie on old hot rods and the propor way to do things, I am hoping I can get some advice from some of you. Does this floor look right? I was thinking of lowering the floor to give more leg room. Does the body mounts on the frame look right? they seem rather tall. And on the steering box, do you think it would be ok to slide it up front more and fab a wedge to tilt it back a bit? any suggestions would be appriciated. -Don

View attachment 1488

View attachment 1489

View attachment 1490

Your steering box will turn in the clamp on top of the frame when the bolts are loosened no need to fab anything just drill the holes farther forward in the frame.You will have to re align the pitman arm on the box to center it again once the box is moved and leaned back to your liking.I'm just building myself a T bucket now at 55 but I have looked at hundreds and have never seen a body mounted like yours on any!Those mounts look very high compared to any I have seen they are almost always level with the frame top on "regular" cars. I have seen some mounted below the frame but very few like that.My guess is who ever built your T mounted the floor way high like that to not have the trans take up a lot of interior floor space

Welcome to the forum from one Don to another. :welcome:

I'm not sure either what they were trying to accomplish with the floor sitting up like that. Generally you want the amount the body is channeled to cover the sides of the frame, so you channel it 3 inches. Sitting up like that the body looks like it would sit above the frame...........very unusual.