Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Useable power in a T-Bucket...

Ryan

Hello everyone. I am a new member on this site. I really enjoy reading all this knowledge/experience as I've just begun a T project myself.

One thing I have not found on any site is how a T-bucket handles small block power. Do these things hook up with 400+ HP? It seems with a less than 200o pound car it would just slide and hop all over the place. As I mentioned, I am new to these cars and only have experience with Firebirds/Camaros etc. A 400 horse motor in a 2700 pound car was way plenty. At what point is it just overkill on power? Dont get me wrong, I'm all about the big numbers, I just wonder at what point it is just wasted motor.

I guess ya can't really waste a motor. Ya only get 400 HP at some high RPM. Be gentle on the pedal and HP won't make a difference. My 302 is only good for about 300 HP [or less] and it scoots real good. The really important thing is having the right torque converter so it doesn't pull too hard at idle. Some of these guys here have huge engines and do all right. Sure they will chime in soon.

Last edited:
Yea Roger that. I'm just curious how much of it you can put to the ground. 300 sounds like it would move it just fine. I had a 95 Trans Am with a meager 275HP, + the car weighed 3700 pounds and it was still greasy.

having power on tap is a good thing , being able to control it or learning to control it is anothe matter...... "rolling" power in is an aquired skill.... it really doesn't matter how much you have available , it's whether or not you can control it , I put that more on the driver than the equipment.
dave

It boils down to good rear suspension design, adjustable shocks, and decent tires like a proper drag radial or sticky Mickey T to make it hook. and yes, 400 HP in a Bucket = plenty of fun on the street.