Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Anyone run the 1/4 mile?

deckofficer

Banned
On the "run what you brung" nights at the track, if you state that you have never run the 1/4 mile and you think your car will do "about a 12.5" they will let you race. This happened to me at the Sacramento Raceway about 20 years ago. I had a blown 427 side oiler Ford in my '55 Ford and they did ask what I thought it would do. While waiting to run a friend appeared and asked if I really wanted to know what my car could run, as he had slicks mounted on wheels with my bolt pattern. The slicks brought out the best of my old shoe box and I was given a list of what would be needed to be done to my car if I ever wanted to run again. The safety items are broken down into brackets of et run. I won't say what I ran unless I can find that timing slip for proof, but since I'm new to cars that have our power to weight ratio, HAS ANYONE RUN THE 1/4 AND WHAT WERE THE RESULTS? It is hard for me to gauge from that run over 20 years ago, but I think my Track-T is faster.

Check out Andys photo album.
http://www.tbucketeers.com/forum/f28/fadsters-new-photos-volume-1-a-767/
intheair1.jpg

A good friend of mine came to visit and he has a GTO with a 540 Shaffirof motor in it that runs 10.40. I let him drive my bucket. He said the bucket is faster. I have never had it to the track so I don't know for sure.

Thats my favorite Andy pic."UP OFF ALL FOUR"

I ran my old heap last year at the hamb drags.High 13's at 102.8 mph. I had a ball! going back in 2 weeks... I"l tell you how i did when I get back

In the late 70's to early 80's ours ran 10.31@129-131 but it's heavy 2350# now with the new motor going in it mid to high 9's won't be a problem without the nitrous.....but no track in their right mind would let it run without a full cage.

RUN-NE1 said: