Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Brake lights

dartdog

Hello everyone,
This is my first time on this site,and I hope to meet some more T-bucket fanatics as my self.I am just finishing the wiring on my 23 T,and need some help with the brake lights? Is there a brake light switch that goes from the peddle to the brake lights,and if so where can I find one? Thanks, Dartdog

Two ways to go. One is to use an inline pressure switch that is activated when brake line pressure builds up from stepping on the pedal, and the second is a mechanical switch that opens when the pedal moves away from it and allows the button to come out (or in some cases when the button is depressed by the pedal).

I have had two of the pressure type on my 23 in two years. Each one died in just about a year. Just this past weekend before leaving for Billetproof I tried the brakes and no lights came on. My Son tested the switch and it was bad...........same thing happened last year at Turkey Run and we replaced it at that time. I had heard silicone brake fluid (Dot 5) kills them and that must be right.

We installed a mechanical switch to replace the pressure switch and the brake lights are working fine now. I had a mechanical switch on my 27 for 7 years of daily use and it never went bad.

Welcome to the group also.

Don

Most bucket use a pressure switch inline with a tee.
91031305_R.jpg
Pressure Brake Switch
I agree with Don the pressure switch can fail but is easier to install.

I am a firm believer in a mechanical switch. Pressure switches leave a lot to be desired.

I personally would avoid the mechanical switch that Speedway offers. I have had three of them go bad on me. I much prefer the one that Ron Francis offers. I have them on both of my street rods and they work excellently. The one that I use is part number SW-42. It is a little pricey but you get what you pay for.

Jim