Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Engine cross member

Coupefreak

Howdy, I'm brand new to the T-bucket scene, but I'm eager to learn:surprised:

I was wondering........do I need a engine cross member?
I have been looking around at different buckets, and notice some have them, and some don't:confused:

so whats the divergent opinion here?

Thanks

Vance

Welcome to the forum. :welcome:

It's going to depend on what engine you use and the design of the frame. My engine/frame combo uses a cross member. My engine is a SBC with the oil sump in the rear. An engine with the sump in front, will most likely have the engine mounts on the frame and probably won't have a cross member. It seems to me that my crossmember adds to the rigidness of the frame by tying it together. But the other way is probably just as strong.

Vance,

Mine, like TFeverFred's will be a SBC with the oil pump in the rear. However, it will not have an engine crossmember. I don't think it will be a strength issue since I don't plan on taking it out to the track a lot. That's not to say I won't be doing some rapid acceleration comparisons with other vehicles....hehehe. I think if I were going to really be hard on it, have a lot of hp in it, I'd would have gone with the crossmember. My .02 worth.

PaulR

Thanks for the replies, i appreciate the info.
I do not have a cross member in my Coupe, its a SBC with a 'glide tranny.
every once in a while I hafta "air it out":D so far no problems.

Vance

With a crossmember, the frame is strengthened with the tubing used.

Without a crossmember, the engine block becomes part of the frame, as it is the actual crossmember.

In a street application, it's likely a toss-up. In most situations, you're never going to get the car to actually get hold of the ground anyway.