Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Fuel Pressure Regulator Question...

Engine - Not to stir the pot too much, but remember the Holley pump mounts with the motor up. Opposite of the Carter. The Carter pump motor is actually cooled by fuel.

BTW - I've been running a Red Holley on my 46 for over 10 years. Went with the Carter on the bucket due to mounting concerns.

Mike

Yea Mike.....the V6's were a challenge back before everyone started making parts for them...........I handbuilt a tunnelram out of 1/4" alum. flatbar to replace one of those old -Brandywines-..........I first saw that.....and it ranked right on up there with the Mopar crossram that has the carbs out there by the edges of the hood!!!!! HeeHee......I saw someone had to be on a 1 week drunk to come up with that sorta stuff.

But, amazingly.......the old homemade alum tunnelram intake I built made a good enough impression I made another one for a Ford 460..........then I made them fairly regular there for a while for the big inchers........till I got into blowers......

Yea Engine........if ya can't get your pressure with the Carter......the Holleys should be a sure bet.............Did anyone ever find out if the Sun electric fuelpumps are still being made?????????:cool:

Well, I tried the Holley red pump and got a little over 5 lbs of pressure. I set up the pump on my bench top first and got the same pressure I did on the car. Not sure why I keep getting such a drop in pressure, but I think I may just go with a mechanical now. I am going to try one more thing ad if I cannot get good results I will go mechanical.

engine24355 said: