Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Newbie from Wisconsin

mikesplumbing

Hey guys!

Glad to be part of the T-Bucket team. When I was a kid my Dad used to take me to every car show in Wisconsin and I guess I grew up loving old cars and old music. My first car was a 67 Chevelle my dad found for me and I still own it. Growing up my Dad had a number of old classics but I always wanted to build a T-Bucket and just never found the time.

Fast forward a few years and I find myself married with 3 kids and no T-Bucket. My son Henry (5) really likes the T-Buckets also and of course he sits with me online while I keep checking out T-Buckets and bookmarking my favorite ones. The other day Henry told me we should start building one and I got to thinking that waiting for more time is a poor excuse and figured what the heck now is just as good a time as any.

My experience fabricating is a little different than most folks here I suspect, i'm a pilot and own/fly/build vintage airplanes. My welding experience is 90% thin wall 4130 CM used in vintage aircraft fuselages and I normally weld all of it with an oxy set-up. I do own a Millermatic 185??? MIG but it just doesn't get much use in the aircraft building but should work well for frame building.

For materials I have some older 327 and 350 blocks, cranks, and heads in storage from when I was younger but thats about it. I have a ways to go before I start but i'm thinking of scratchbuilding the frame etc. Anyhow that's me in a nut shell I guess, I was reading through some of the threads here and it seems like it's a really great group of fellas here and also looks like I stand a good chance of learning about T-Buckets from you all.

Mike