Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

anybody runing a Vette rear end

Fireball

Is anybody running a vette rear end in a Bucket? pros/cons? fit? I know you can use a jag but out of my $$.

I'm not an expert here, but I have to question your price statement. Tons of dead XJ6 Jags out there with the basic parts you need. While there are some dead 'Vettes, I think their parts would be more $$. Either can work fine, but I don't plan to run either, and I have both sitting here in my shop right now. Instead I plan to keep it simple, and use an S-10 rear end. Much less work, much less $$, and just as functional. If you are going for looks, then the Jag. is the way to go, after you chrome it all up to the hilt, you can't beat the looks. For me, it turns out to not be a practical decision, since I am not into show, I just wanna go....

I'm running a Corvette rear end in my T-Bucket.

Pros:

Nice ride.

Looks really cool watching the chromed axles spinnin' as it rolls down the road.

Cons:

Expensive to work on.

Hub has to be pressed on and off to replace the rear wheel bearings(cost me $325 for one side and i had a hard time finding a shop locally that could do it) because the bearings must be shimmed to prevent excessive run out. If the run out on the rotors is excessive the calipers pistons will oscillate causing the pistons to suck in air resulting in a loss of brakes. If the car spends alot of time parked the pistons will corrode causing the calipers to leak. They can be honed out and have stainless steel sleeves and O rings installed to prevents leaks and corrosion.

If the side yoke (inner axle) ends get worn it cause excessive rear tire wear and positrac clutch chatter. The axle shifts can move back and forth and can cause a form of rear bump steer.

Did i mention expensive to work on?