Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Camber Correction

sschutze

I just bought a running/driveable '23 T-Bucket and am going to start to clean up some of the issues left by the previous owner. I've been working on muscle cars most of my life, but I'm new to the earlier model cars so forgive my ignorance if I sometimes use the wrong terms.

My first task is to resolve the sever positive camber issue on my front axle. If you look at the front view picture on my Gallery page you'll see what I mean. Everything I have found online tells me this car has a '32 - 36 Ford front axle with about a 2 ½" drop. The car runs down the road straight and smooth, which tells me the toe is correct (or very close), but I do not see any adjustment for the camber. Someone mentioned a wedge type shim for the spindle mount to align it closer to verticle, but I haven't found anything like that online. Any suggestions?

I could take this to an alignment shop but I I like working on my cars too much to let someone else have all the fun. I'll use the professionals to fine tune the alignment.

At first I thought you had spelled caster wrong, but then I looked at your pictures.

A shim won't correct the problem.

I suggest you replace the front axle - like a tube or Ibeam from Chassis Engineering as they offer forged axles and spindles and not castings like other suppliers.

Honest gents, I am not employed by CE, I just like and use their products.

And, you should consider a welded tube axle from RPM - a revered sponsor here and a good buy.

It almost looks like they are the wrong spindles for the axle.

You could get the axle dropped, when they do the drop they can correct the camber built into the axle, no way you will fix that with a shim. Have you measured it to see what the angle is?

This should help

med_gallery_4889_147_91819.jpg