Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

How do you remove the inner race?

Greg R

In the Spirit kit you must replace the inner race in the rotors. How the heck do you get the old ones out without damaging something?

Lay it on two 2x4's and use a brass punch an going from sidetoside work it out takes a little work but it will come out

Francis Blake said:
Lay it on two 2x4's and use a brass punch an going from sidetoside work it out takes a little work but it will come out

Thanks for the response. I started to use a small screwdriver and hammer but was worried I might damage it.

If you have access to a welder, weld a couple of beads 180 apart on the bearing surface of the race and it will fall out.

Bob

I've been to Sears and Harbor Freight Tools and both were sold out of brass punches. I ordered a set on the internet but in the meantime thought I would try heating the race like Ted advised.

I have a 1100 degree heat gun and heated the race for probably 30-40 seconds and got no results.

Is that temperature hot enough and how long should I apply heat?

Thanks guys for your help.

Sorry Ted but a bearing race will expand when heated.I've worked with Timken bearings all day long for 30 years and when i install a race i put it in dry ice to shrink it then heat the bearing to expand it to fit over the lathe spindles.

Go to ace or lowes and pickup a small piece of brass roundstock and make you a punch. By the time you roundup all you need you might be better off to just knock it out and purchase a new race and bearing. JMO

I do use a steel punch driving the old one out from the opposite side being careful not to hit the seat where the race sits.Take a steel punch and grind a 90 degree edge on the face then dive it out using this.Usually there are 2 notches behind the race to get at it.