Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Powder-coating calipers

Hmmm, never had it done but since they will be baked at 400 degrees I wonder if the seals might be damaged in the oven. I think I would paint them instead, if it were me.

Don

I think they would do just fine. Take them apart and polish all the rough off of them. Should look great. The real trick will be to keep from scratching them up, trying to put them back together.

Do I need to explain how to tape them off to my powdercoater or do you think it would be common since? I have been using him for only a few years but have never had brake components done as I normally buy the name brand units that are already powdercoated or epoxy finished.

Do I need to explain how to tape them off to my powdercoater or do you think it would be common since? I have been using him for only a few years but have never had brake components done as I normally buy the name brand units that are already powdercoated or epoxy finished.
Well better explain it, I had some front end suspension parts done and I had to chase all the threads which was a pita.

Our shop does them quite often. Many times we have to take them apart--and sometimes we get them already un-assembled. Yes all seals need to be out of them. As RPM said, take some time with a grinder and flap wheel, or a right angle die grinder and ro-locs and get them smooth. It'll make them look tons better.

As for taping and plugging, a good shop knows what surfaces to take and what holes/threads to plug, but it doesn't hurt to tell them. Here is a pic of some GM calipers we did.
BC7.jpg

Our shop does them quite often. Many times we have to take them apart--and sometimes we get them already un-assembled. Yes all seals need to be out of them. As RPM said, take some time with a grinder and flap wheel, or a right angle die grinder and ro-locs and get them smooth. It'll make them look tons better.