Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Rear brake problems

SimpleT

I am finally finishing my 1927 T. Evrything works great except the rear brakes. I have a dual master cylinder mounted below the floor - disc brakes on the front ad S-10 drum brakes on the rear. I have new cylinders, drums and shoes on the rear. I have the 10psi valve on the rear and just after it I have the propotioning valve. Right now the proportioning valve is opened up all the way (counter clockwise). I have bleed the brakes numerous times - but when I bpress on the pedal the rear tires still turn. I am stumped.

Check to be sure that you do not have the residual valve in backwards. If you can, make a tube that will bypass the valves to see if it's a master cylinder problem. Did you adjust your drum brake shoes after you installed them?

Check to be sure that you do not have the residual valve in backwards. If you can, make a tube that will bypass the valves to see if it's a master cylinder problem. Did you adjust your drum brake shoes after you installed them?

I will verify that the valves have the arrows going the correct way. I know I could bleed the brakes at the wheels. Also, the first time I adjusted the brakes - I went too tight. I backed them off - probably too much.

When adjusting the brakes have them off the ground and adjust them till they are just dragging.Then test them with it jacked up just spinning by hand. One more thing you might think the rears are not working due to the small front tires grabbing so quick better brakes on front with smaller tires can screw up your thinking sometimes.JMO