Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Suspension Bind

bobs66440

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
I'm very new to the T-Bucket world and as such have no experience with the hairpin style suspension design. But I have to say, after beginning the final assembly process of the rolling chassis (in the rear) after painting, I am amazed at the amount of bind that seems inherent in the design. Straight up and down there is no bind at all, but try to lift one side and the whole chassis follows. I didn't quite understand what was going on at first, but after some experimentation I saw that as one side is going up, it's trying to pull the radius rod out of the mounting bracket. Yikes! What a terrible design, lol! Now I see why the 4-link and 4-bar design is preferred.

And, now I see why the original wishbone setup like in the Model A (pivoting in the center) works well with no bind until you "split the bones" and move them out more parallel to the chassis.

I suppose it's not so critical since the suspension travel is so slight, but still...

I'm thinking I may be better off with bushed rod ends here?? Unfortunately I would have to completely reconfigure all the brackets and everything...

I used spherical rod ends figuring that they would free up any bind, but it seems to have made little or no difference...I suppose moving the front mounts out (to clear the body) doesn't help but I can't imagine it making that much difference...

Now I see why Spirit (others may also) has such beefy (3/8") brackets...because the radius rods, frame & rear (or front axle in that case) all become stressed members and act as a pseudo "sway bar".

I used a long 2x4 as a lever to see how much twist was available and there is a decent amount. More than I would expect, so I don't think I will be shearing bolts and brackets. After all, these aren't rock crawlers with huge amounts of articulation, but it just seems a little unnerving...