Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Hello everyone

Flyer

Hello everyone

I’m Wayne; I like to create things. Take a look at my avatar, I built it and a lot of other things too. In 1967/68 I built a ’30 roadster on 32 frame rails with a 289 automatic. I worked as a draftsman most of my life, eventually, I got a bachelors degree and a masters in mechanical engineering. I’ve worked as a contract engineer for both Ford and GM as an engineer, so I’m no stranger to automobiles

Welcome from Yukon Oklahoma ! WelcomeAnim.gif

I 've got the project well under way. There are a number of good donor vehicles to choose from. The Chevy guys look at S10’s, maybe some of the bigger pickups, Blazers, or Camero’s. I’m a Ford guy, so I looked at Mustangs, Rangers, F150’s and Explorers. I narrowed my scope to the 1995 thru 2001 Explorers. They had 4-wheel disk brakes, were available as rear wheel drive, had automatic transmissions and 302 Windsor engines.

I won a Copart Auction and got a 1999 Explorer, for $125 plus broker fees. Cold weather hit early, while I waited for weather to break, I ordered a standard 23-T body and 20-inch bed, from Ron Pope. At about the same time I came into possession of a pair of early Ford reproduction spindles and Speedway put a stainless steel axle in their “garage sale”.

My garage in Michigan is crammed full and is un-heated, so I have to strip the Explorer, in a friends garage. His garage is small and unheated. I’m retired, but he’s not; seems like either he's working or it's to cold to be outside working. Right now I’m waiting for favorable weather and help, to pull the engine, transmission and rear end.