Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Lokar neutral switch

rooster57

Have any of you had trouble adjusting the Lokar NSS. I can get it to lock out rev and drive but not low2 and low. PITA but nessessery for safety. I followed the instructions but the detail is vague for liability reasons i would bet.

I have been wrestling with that lilsumbitch for three years!!! You can fool some of the gears all of the time, or you can fool all of the gears some of the time, but you can't fool all of the gears all of the time.

I emailed Lokar tech support with a link to this thread.

I have had problems too, and still do. I called them and they told me to use the little thingie that came with the shifter to adjust the NSS. Still doesn't work all the time and will startle you sometimes by starting in gear and jumping 5 feet before you get it stopped. :eek: I also have a problem with it dropping down into 2nd gear if I am on the interstate and hit a bump like a bridge riser in the pavement...........that also will get your attention! :eek: I have got to get in there and play with both issues before it causes me any problems.

I think I might go to a Gennie shifter in the new rod I am putting together, I hear good things about them.

Don

So-Cal had a great selection of gennie shifters. I may try to mount a switch on the trans arm or maybe gennie will give me a good tradein on my Lokar.

I don't know what the problem is with your switch Rooster and Don. You had me wondering about mine so I went to the garage and checked mine and it worked perfectly. It will only start in park and neutral. Maybe I just got lucky with mine.

In my other car, the '37, I have a Gennie unit and I am very pleased with its operation also.

Jim