Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Quick change x perts needed

Pickup Man

I was thinking about using a quick change rear end on my t project and am not sure what one to use :think: there are so many styles winters , franklin, speedway exc... any advise on what set up works best?

Mine has an older Franklin and I'm no expert. It was a pretty easy set up though. A couple of weld on brackets, a watts link set up and a disk setup. Gotta get rid of the spool though. Not street friendly at all. I couldn't find a pic that really shows the set up Let me know if you want one
T

terrymac said:
Mine has an older Franklin and I'm no expert. It was a pretty easy set up though. A couple of weld on brackets, a watts link set up and a disk setup. Gotta get rid of the spool though. Not street friendly at all. I couldn't find a pic that really shows the set up Let me know if you want one
T

If you can get a few pics post em :D

i'm definetly no expert, but i recently acquired a frankland Champ rearend..

a quickchange called a champ , is the big rearend, it has a 10inch ring gear like a dana 60, this is a brute of the quickchanges and you can lift it by yourself...

generally if you buy a used one it will be a frankland, alot of sprintcar drivers migrated to Winters because they are a newer design and weigh less than the franklands and parts availability are easier because the winters is more mainstream, but the frankland parts are still readily available..

the frankland champ style rear i bought had wide 5 ends on the, i am in the process of adding old ford 9inch ends on it as we speak.. basickly its like tubbing a rear the way i'm doing it. cut existing ends off and replace with 9inch ends, and axles adn brakes.

quickchanges are relatively easy to work on, if you get a used one, such as a frankland rebuild kits can be bought from winters..along with any parts you need..