Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

rear diff

terrymac

I recently picked up a Frankland quick change for my bucket. Before I spend a lot of time re-doing my rear suspension any input? Pro's or con's
Thanks Terry

I myself don't have any experience with them, but man it looks like a great setup!

original.jpg

8:24 to 2:80 final drive ratio options...

I have no experience with them either, but I would LOVE to try!! :lol::)

Very nice setups from what I hear. I think Ken Thurm is using these in a couple of his cars and he uses only the very best stuff out there. (See the new Street Rodder, he is featured in there)

Don

I was a crew member of a dirt late model in the early 80s. We ran a Frankland quick change. My involvement was changing gears and making sure it had plenty of Red-Line oil in it. The rear end was tough. We broke a ring gear at one race that jammed and stopped the rear wheels. It broke some suspension pieces but didn't hurt the housing. We put a new ring and pinion in it and were back on the track the next weekend.

I don't know what ring and pinion combinations are available for the Frankland. Speedway sells Winters rear ends and they offer a 3.78 or a 4.12. With the gear sets available you can go from as high as a 1.96 to a low 7.21. You could put in a 21/27 gear set in and have a 2.94 mileage gettin' road gear and then swap the gears top to bottom and have a 4.86 making your T a tire-boiling traffic light to traffic light cop-teasing attention getter. And it would look sexy as hell sitting under there.

I think I would make the modifications and use it. If you decide you don't want to mess with it you can feel free to give it to me. Steve

I don't have another $1200 right now, besides I know of one that has never been used for $50. Fixed incomes can be a bitch.

Ron

I'd run over and get it right now.