Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Rear kick up pictures pros and cons

barnbikes

I am new at this and would like input on the pictures I took at a car show couple weeks ago.

Now I realize that most guys don't like to rag on other peoples work but I think it is a learning experience to see what what other people like/ hate and why they think that way.

Is stacking frame rails better or worse then angle cutting and butting the ends?

I'll take a stab at this

Doing a simple structural analysis on both methods will reveal the method used by most people ( mitered joints ) is much stronger than it needs to be. However, it's the hand that holds the welder that makes the joint strong, not the construction method.

Looking at your photos that's a real mess to look at and does nothing structurally. Again simple stress analysis reveals this quite easily.

Here is another take also. Something known as eccentric loading is something else to consider, a welded assembly can sometimes look like it's reinforced very well but in fact it can cause problems by shifting stress in to areas where stress shouldnt be concentrated. When looking at structures like this the formulas for calculating which joints are better you also need to understand "beam theory", "bending moments", "compressive, tensile, and shear stress etc". I suppose "moments of inertia" should be looked at also.

Do you feel like doing that?:rock: Me either!! LOL

In the end the mitered joints are proven not just mathematically but by years of personal experience by just about everybody on this forum. The past can usually be the best teacher but everything depends on how well you can weld. If you have a sub-standard weld it doesn't matter how pretty or ugly the joints are, it's gonna fail.