Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Step Plates

Bubblehead

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
(at least that is what I think they are called)

Hello all. My new bucket does not have any operable doors, so you have to step in. I don't believe that is a big deal for me at all, but others I offer a ride to may like the step. I saw several different options in catalogs, but noticed most don't come with mounting hardware. I am assuming this is something you normally attach to the frame for rigidity purposes, but if you have a channeled body that is not an option right? My new car has not been delivered yet, but I am getting ready with the mods I want to do early on.

Thanks, Glenn

Most that I see are welded to the frame, and are often custom fabrications.

BTW welcome.....you got a very well done car.....I studied several pictures of it, and they built some very nice features into it. Good Luck !

I would like to see a picture of it mounted on the frame without the body. Does it sit on top of the frame? If so, wouldn't the bolt head interfer with the body? It looks nice and I'm thinking of getting one or two.

I would like to see a picture of it mounted on the frame without the body. Does it sit on top of the frame? If so, wouldn't the bolt head interfer with the body? It looks nice and I'm thinking of getting one or two.

I believe that they do set on top of the frame. Interference would depend on how the body and/or floor is mounted.

DSCN2109.JPG DSCN2110.JPG DSCN2111.JPG
This is how I made my wife a step.....1" Alum and then some 1/4 inch material for the top........The radius rods are solid and they mount real close to the front so they are real stout.........

MikeDSCN1920.JPG DSCN1932.JPG

I remember looking at this set-up when in Mt. Home last Summer and was impressed with the look, and craftsmanship. Very nice job.