Ron Pope Motorsports                California Custom Roadsters               

Axlle problem

Track T-4

Supporting Member
Supporting Member
I'm new to T's and have been restoring a Track T purchased back in March. This week I noticed some looseness in the right front wheel so jacked it up today to take a look. When I grip the tire at the 12:00 aond 6:00 positions and press back-and-forth the vertical pin at the end of the axle (the spindle/backing plate turns on it) has noticeable play. I'm guessing there is a pin inside that needs replacing but hope the housing is not bad. On the back of the housing is what looks like a bolt with a head about 2" long which I assume holds the pin in place? What do I have to do/replace to fix the play?

Also, here is a photo of the wheel/axle. I believe it is an old ford unit but am not sure specifically what year, etc it might be. Any ideas?

Wheel_1.jpg

Thanks in advance for any help.

Track....The problem is probably not a huge one. I suspect the bushings in your spindles weren't greased and as a result the clearance has opened up. you could just buy new bushing and have installed and reamed. If I was faced with this, I would open Speedy Bills catalog Speedway) and order a new king pin set. They run about $30-$35. I would also do both sides.